Platform Lifts, wheelchair and domestic – Invalifts Logo

For enquiries and advice, call


What is the Equality Act?

The Equality Act 2010 replaced the following legislation:

  • Sex Discrimination Act 1975
  • Race Relations Act 1976
  • Disability Discrimination Act 1995
  • Equal Pay Act 1970
  • Employment Equality (Religion or Belief) Regulations 2003
  • Employment Equality (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2003
  • Employment Equality (Age) Regulations 2006

The Equality Act was designed to replace many separate pieces of anti – discrimination laws into a single Act. In doing so the legal framework became easier to understand and in some cases actually made the anti – discrimination legislation stronger. The Acts primary function is to provide a framework to legally protect individuals and groups of individuals from any discrimination in society or the workplace.

 9 “protected characteristics”

The Act contains 9 “protected characteristics”, these are characteristics that are protected by Law from any form of discrimination:

  • Disability
  • Age
  • Gender reassignment
  • Pregnancy or maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation
  • Marriage or civil partnership (in employment only)

The law also covers discrimination by association, where a family member falls into under the protected characteristics. Ie discriminated against because your daughter was disabled.

Access for public buildings

The Equality Act requires that buildings for public access have facilities and access that do not discriminate against users with impaired mobility or wheelchair users. Building owners should make “reasonable adjustments” to the building to facilitate access. Reasonable adjustments would consist of items such as:

  • Ramps
  • Lifts
  • Widening of doorways
  • Signage and lighting

Here at Invalifts we can help with finding the right solution to your access needs. Please contact us on 0845 468 2543 or visit

Lift Finder

Use our Lift Finder to help choose the lift that's right for you.

Product Finder

Follow Us

You can follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Click one of the links below:

Twitter   Facebook Instagram 

About Invalifts

We are a UK based company who specialise in the provision and installation of inclined and vertical platform lifts in both public and domestic environments. We have solutions available which can be used for both internal and external use, together with ones that are able to transport both people and goods.

We are lift specialists with many years experience installing wheel chair and vertical platform lifts for the UK, and are committed to delivering top class products and services to all of our Customers. Our most popular products are the MC2000 platform lift, the M6000LS cabin platform lift and the InvaStair-Riser, our elegant, slim-line wheelchair stair lift.

All of our products are designed to comply with the relevant UK and EC Directives, and are ideal for installation in all environments, including domestic and public. We regularly install units in schools, retail outlets, churches, libraries, offices, care homes, hospitals etc.

6 Falcon Park, Claymore, Tame Valley Ind. Est. Tamworth, Staffordshire. B77 5DQ

Telephone:0845 468 2543 | Email: | Company registration number: 3950068 | Company VAT registration number: 753 8175 10